Flowers for happiness

This rainy and cold morning, my mum woke me up with my favorite flowers of all time, peonies. The light pink ones, I might add. I love them so much that I decided to write this while drinking coffee from my mug which matches the flowers and cozy, checkered pajama. Perfect Friday morning.

Mythology says the peony is named after Paeon, a student of Asclepius, the Greek god of medicine and healing. Asclepius became jealous of his pupil and Zeus saved Paeon from the wrath of Asclepius by turning him into the peony flower. This in an example of pretty things coming out of awful situations. There is about 40 different species of peonies and they are both a flower type and a plant growth. They have compound, deeply lobed leaves and large, often fragrant, flowers, ranging from red to white or yellow, in late spring and early summer.

My favorites are definitely the light pink ones and now is the time they bloom. Now that you learned a little something about peonies, here goes my advice to you. Buy your significant other some flowers, get yourself some flowers for the house, make yourself happy. Because no one ever kept a smile off their face while having flowers in their hand.

Enjoy the weekend! 🙂

original

fuchsia-peonies peonies

4 thoughts on “Flowers for happiness

Leave a Reply

